overdose awareness

让我们谈谈家庭暴力和过量认识日(8/31)

  • 意识到
  • 善待
  • 主动
  • 乐于助人

与我们一起承诺了解其他人的经历,主动寻求药物滥用的帮助,并在每次互动中积极主动并乐于助人。

全国过量认识日是 8 月 31 日

这个月,我们也在谈论家庭暴力。

为纪念 8 月 31 日的全国药物过量意识日,本月的健康剂量需要时间来讨论药物滥用问题,尤其是阿片类药物和芬太尼,这通常会导致药物过量和死亡。在整个月中,我们还将提高人们对家庭暴力的认识,并共享资源以支持幸存者。

家庭暴力和药物过量是很难讨论的话题,但很重要。进行这些艰难而情绪化的对话是消除未来家庭暴力问题和防止药物过量的第一步。

988 可以为所有新墨西哥人打开寻求心理健康或药物使用帮助的大门,同时传达治愈、希望和帮助每天都在发生的信息。

家庭暴力意识

它可能发生在任何人身上,这绝不是你的错。

家庭暴力 (DV) 被定义为一种对他人建立权力和控制的行为模式。恐吓、恐吓、威胁和/或使用身体暴力的行为是家庭暴力的几个指标。虽然通常与身体虐待有关,但家庭暴力还包括口头、心理、经济、性、经济和精神虐待。

 

家庭或亲密伴侣暴力的迹象包括:

  • 身体虐待:打、拍、推、抓、捏、咬、拉头发、拒绝为伴侣提供医疗护理或强迫使用酒精和/或药物、使用武力将伴侣困在家中或将其踢出去、使用在性情况下威胁或使用武力的武器。
  • 性虐待:胁迫或试图胁迫任何未经同意的性接触或行为、婚内强奸、攻击身体的性部位、在发生身体暴力后强迫性行为或以性贬低方式对待一个人。
  • 情感虐待:破坏个人的自我价值感和/或自尊、不断批评、削弱个人能力、辱骂或破坏与伴侣子女的关系。
  • 财务/经济虐待:通过保持对财务资源的完全控制、阻止个人获得金钱或禁止上学或就业,使个人在经济上依赖或试图使个人依赖。
  • 心理虐待:通过恐吓造成恐惧,威胁对自己、伴侣、孩子或伴侣的家人或朋友造成身体伤害,破坏宠物和财产或强迫与家人和朋友隔离。
  • 技术辅助虐待:使用手机、电脑、社交网络和其他电子工具来跟踪、欺凌、恐吓、恐吓、骚扰或以其他方式伤害他人。
  • 网络跟踪:使用在线通信针对他人的威胁行为或不受欢迎的进步模式。
  • 网络欺凌:使用电脑、手机和其他电子设备故意和反复伤害。

 

家庭暴力可能发生在任何人身上,不分年龄、种族、性别、性取向或阶级。未成年人,包括青少年和青少年,在人际关系中遭受与成年人相同类型的虐待。退伍军人经历 DV 的比率很高,而 LGBTQIA+ 人遭受 DV 和性侵犯 (SA) 的风险增加。如果您或您认识的人遭受家庭暴力,请记住——这不是您的错,您没有什么可羞耻的,而且您并不孤单。有提供者和人关心并可以帮助您。 没有人值得被虐待。

 

从家庭暴力中恢复是可能的。新墨西哥州人类服务部行为健康服务部 (BHSD) 可以联系家庭暴力幸存者提供帮助。他们努力确定最需要帮助的人,并与当地的许多当地机构合作提供服务。他们为人们提供安全的社区空间,让他们聚在一起交谈,为 DV 和 SA 的幸存者提供咨询,并在全州范围内提供工具包、教育和意识。 BHSD 与提供紧急住房的当地 DV 庇护所以及可以记录伤害并与想要采取法律行动的幸存者合作的危机中心合作。 BHSD 还有一个新的专门的 LGBTQIA+ 外展和宣传计划,因为该社区的人在 DV 和 SA 的情况下人数过多。

 

BHSD 采用整体的、全人健康的方法来解决 DV 和性侵犯问题,以便无论幸存者正在经历什么,他们都能找到他们需要的护理类型。他们将传统、西方和文化相关的服务纳入所提供的护理中。他们有针对退伍军人和美洲原住民的计划,并提供支持团体,让人们可以放心地谈论他们的创伤。通过 BHSD 提供的所有 DV 和 SA 服务都是保密且免费的。您可以通过访问找到提供者 www.treatmentconnection.com.

 

对于新墨西哥州的青年,可以通过 ReachNM(CYFD 青年文本热线,用于疑似虐待和忽视)获得帮助。 ReachNM 提供受过专门培训的人员来回答青年人的问题,并通过文本每天 24 小时、一年 365 天为他们提供所需的支持。如果您对虐待有任何疑问或需要帮助,请发短信至 505-591-9444。

 

现在,如果您处于危机之中,拨打 988 是 DV 和袭击幸存者获得即时、全面支持的一种方式。接听 988 电话的训练有素的危机顾问不仅会倾听您谈论您所经历的事情,而且可以将您与当地可用的最佳资源联系起来,以便在当下为您提供帮助。如果您想这样做,988 危机顾问还可以帮助您制定下一步的计划。

 

过量预防和减害工作

我们可以一起打破这个循环。

自大流行开始以来,新墨西哥州因滥用阿片类药物而导致的过量死亡人数有所增加。某些人群服用过量的风险可能会增加,包括:

  • 任何与其他药物或物质(包括酒精)一起服用阿片类药物的人
  • 任何使用海洛因、吗啡或芬太尼的人
  • 排毒或出狱后耐受性降低的人
  • 以前有过非致命性过量服用的人
  • 任何使用阿片类药物来控制疼痛的人。

 

无论您服用处方止痛药、海洛因、芬太尼还是混合一种以上的药物(包括酒精),都可能发生意外过量和死亡。阿片类药物会引起反应,使您的呼吸减慢甚至停止,这是许多过量服用的常见因素。在新墨西哥州,约有 74% 的过量死亡是由某种形式的阿片类药物(包括芬太尼)引起的,在过去三年中,因芬太尼而导致的过量死亡增加了 135%。 芬太尼 是一种非常强大的阿片类药物,即使是少量也会导致毫无戒心的人服用过量。街头毒品通常含有芬太尼。

 

如果您或您所爱的人正在与阿片类药物作斗争,携带 Narcan 可以在过量服用时挽救生命。 Narcan 是一种经鼻给药的救命药物,任何新墨西哥人都可以使用,并由 Medicaid 承保。 Narcan - 也称为纳洛酮 - 是一种鼻喷雾药物,旨在快速逆转阿片类药物过量。您可以拨打 (505) 270-5943 在新墨西哥州的任何地方获得 Narcan。随身携带 Narcan 是个好主意,因为它易于使用并且任何人都可以管理。我们的姐妹活动, 现实的剂量,在他们的网站上有一个完整的 Narcan 提供商列表: 了解如何获得和使用 Narcan 来帮助拯救某人免于过量死亡.

 

药物辅助治疗 (MAT) 是使用药物,结合咨询来治疗对处方止痛药和海洛因的阿片类药物成瘾。阿片类药物成瘾是一种无法治愈的慢性疾病,如心脏病或糖尿病,但可以设法帮助成瘾者重获健康、富有成效的生活。人们不能只是摆脱成瘾——他们需要帮助。您可以通过 Dose of Reality 访问有关获得药物辅助治疗的资源。 单击此处了解 MAT。

 

虽然没有完全安全的方法来使用非法药物和其他物质,但有一些方法可以减少与物质滥用相关的有害影响,例如过量服用。在使用海洛因、芬太尼和其他阿片类药物时,请遵循以下风险较小的减害技巧,以降低过量服用的风险:

  • 切勿单独使用
  • 携带纳尔坎
  • 倾听你的身体
  • 测试你的供应
  • 慢慢使用

 

如需更多信息,请访问 现实的剂量——减少伤害 或致电 1-800-484-3731,切勿单独使用。

prevention is possible

感谢您做出 #DoseofWellness 承诺。

承诺书

记住要与他人就心理健康进行对话,并宣传心理健康与身体健康一样重要——这一切都是相互关联的。

overdose awareness

Let's talk about domestic violence and Overdose Awareness Day (8/31)

  • Be Aware
  • Be Kind
  • Be Proactive
  • Be Helpful

Pledge with us to be aware of other people’s experiences, to be proactive in seeking help for substance misuse, and to be proactive and helpful in every interaction.

National Overdose Awareness Day is August 31st

This month, we are also talking about Domestic Violence.

In recognition of National Overdose Awareness Day on August 31st, this month Dose of Wellness is taking time to talk about substance misuse, especially opiates and fentanyl, which can often lead to overdose and death. Throughout the month, we will also be bringing awareness to Domestic Violence and sharing resources for support for survivors as well.

Domestic violence and overdose are tough topics to discuss, but important to talk about. Having these difficult and emotional conversations is the first step to eliminating future domestic violence issues and preventing overdoses.

988 can open the door for all New Mexicans to seek mental well-being or substance use help, while sending the message that healing, hope, and help are happening every day.

Domestic Violence Awareness

It can happen to anyone, and it's never your fault.

Domestic Violence (DV) is defined as a pattern of behavior that establishes power and control over another person. Behaviors that frighten, intimidate, threaten and/or use physical violence are a few indicators of domestic violence. While often associated with physical abuse, domestic violence also includes verbal, psychological, financial, sexual, economic and spiritual abuse.

 

Signs of Domestic or Intimate Partner Violence Include:

  • Physical Abuse: hitting, slapping, shoving, grabbing, pinching, biting, hair pulling, denying a partner medical care or forcing alcohol and/or drug use, use of force to trap a partner in their home or kick them out, use of a weapon to threaten or use of physical force in sexual situations.
  • Sexual Abuse: coercing or attempting to coerce any sexual contact or behavior without consent, marital rape, attacks on sexual parts of the body, forcing sex after physical violence has occurred or treating one in a sexually demeaning manner.
  • Emotional Abuse: undermining an individual’s sense of self-worth and/or self-esteem, constant criticism, diminishing one’s abilities, name-calling or damaging one’s relationship with a partner’s children.
  • Financial/Economic Abuse: Making or attempting to make an individual financially dependent by maintaining total control over financial resources, withholding one’s access to money or forbidding one’s attendance at school or employment.
  • Psychological Abuse: causing fear by intimidation, threatening physical harm to self, partner, children, or partner’s family or friends, destruction of pets and property or forcing isolation from family and friends.
  • Technology-Assisted Abuse: use of cellphones, computers, social networks and other electronic tools to stalk, bully, intimidate, frighten, harass or otherwise harm someone.
  • Cyberstalking: a pattern of threatening behavior or unwanted advances directed at another using online communications.
  • Cyberbullying: willful and repeated harm inflicted using computers, cell phones and other electronic devices.

 

Domestic violence can happen to anyone, regardless of age, race, gender, sexual orientation or class. Minors, including teens and youth, experience the same types of abuse in relationships as adults. Veterans experience DV at high rates, and LGBTQIA+ people are at increased risk of DV and sexual assault (SA). If you or someone you know have suffered domestic violence, remember— it wasn’t your fault, you have nothing to be ashamed of, and you are not alone. There are providers and people who care and can help you. No one deserves to be abused.

 

Recovery from domestic violence is possible. The New Mexico Human Services Department, Behavioral Health Services Division (BHSD) can connect domestic violence survivors to help. They work to identify who is most in need, and partner with many local agencies on the ground to provide services. They offer safe community spaces for people to come together and talk, counseling for survivors of DV and SA, and supply kits, education and awareness throughout the state. BHSD works with local DV shelters that provide emergency housing, and crisis centers that can document injuries and work with survivors if they want to pursue legal action. BHSD also has a new dedicated LGBTQIA+ outreach and awareness program, as people in this community are over-represented in cases of DV and SA.

 

BHSD takes a holistic, whole-person wellness approach to address DV and sexual assault so that whatever survivors are going through, they can find the type of care they need. They incorporate traditional, western and culturally relevant services into the care that is provided. They have programs for veterans and Native Americans and offer support groups where people can feel safe talking about their trauma. All the DV and SA services through BHSD are confidential and free. You can find a provider by visiting www.treatmentconnection.com.

 

For youth in New Mexico, help is available through ReachNM, the CYFD Youth Textline for Suspected Abuse and Neglect. ReachNM makes specially trained personnel available to answer questions from youth and connect them with the support they need 24 hours a day, 365 days a year via text. If you have questions regarding abuse or need help, text 505-591-9444.

 

Right now, calling 988 if you are in a crisis is a way for survivors of DV and assault to receive immediate, comprehensive support. The trained crisis counselors who answer 988 calls not only listen to you talk about what you have experienced but can connect you to the best available local resources to help you in the moment. 988 crisis counselors can also help you figure out a plan for next steps to take if that is what you want to do.

 

Overdose Prevention and Harm Reduction Work

Together, we can break this cycle.

Overdose deaths in New Mexico caused by opioid misuse have increased since the start of the pandemic. Certain populations may be at increased risk of an overdose, including:

  • Anyone who takes opioids with other medications or substances including alcohol
  • Anyone who uses heroin, morphine or fentanyl
  • People with reduced tolerance following detox or release from incarceration
  • Someone who has had a previous non-fatal overdose
  • Anyone who uses opioid medications to manage pain.

 

Accidental overdose and death can happen whether you are taking prescription painkillers, heroin, fentanyl or mixing more than one drug, including alcohol. Opioids can cause reactions that make your breathing slow or even stop, which is a common factor in a lot of overdose cases. About 74% of overdose deaths in New Mexico are caused by some form of opiates, including fentanyl, and over the last three years, overdose deaths due specifically to fentanyl rose by 135%. Fentanyl is an incredibly strong opioid, and even a small amount can cause an overdose in an unsuspecting person. Street drugs are often laced with fentanyl.

 

If you or a loved one is struggling with opioids, carrying Narcan can save a life in case of an overdose. Narcan is a life-saving medication administered nasally and is available to any New Mexican and is covered by Medicaid. Narcan – also known as Naloxone – is a nasal spray medication designed to rapidly reverse an opioid overdose. You can get Narcan anywhere in New Mexico by calling (505) 270-5943. It’s a good idea to always carry Narcan with you, because it’s easy to use and can be administered by anyone. Our sister campaign, Dose of Reality, has a comprehensive list of Narcan providers on their website: Learn how to get and use Narcan to help save someone from an overdose death.

 

Medication-assisted treatment (MAT) is the use of medications, in combination with counseling to treat opioid addiction to both prescription pain relievers and heroin. Opioid addiction is a chronic disease, like heart disease or diabetes that can’t be cured, but it can be managed to help a person with addiction regain a healthy, productive life. People can’t just walk away from addiction – they need help. You can access resources on obtaining medication-assisted treatment through Dose of Reality. Click here to learn about MAT.

 

While there is no completely safe way to use illicit drugs and other substances, there are ways to diminish the harmful effects associated with substance misuse, such as overdose. When it comes to using heroin, fentanyl and other opioids, follow these less risky harm reduction tips to reduce the risk of overdose:

  • Never use alone
  • Carry Narcan
  • Listen to your body
  • Test your supply
  • Use slowly

 

For more information, visit Dose of Reality – Harm Reduction or call Never Use Alone at 1-800-484-3731.

prevention is possible

Thank you for taking the #DoseofWellness pledge.

Pledge Form

Remember to embrace conversations about mental health with others, and to spread the word that mental health is just as important as physical health—it’s all connected.